Song of Truth

 

ImageChef Word Mosaic - ImageChef.com

He spoke of love as my heart-strings scatter on the floor

broken and weary from years of discord.

How can I gather the words needed to adequately confess

my distress at such blasphemy.

LOVE?!

You know nothing of it!

You gather words and spew forth rhetoric as a mask,

thinly veiled and never meant to last.

You vowed to give the only thing I asked.

A task secured I thought,

in the harmony of our marriage bed.

Instead I stand here broken while you boast.

Truth is the one thing I value most!

Yet you refuse, use and abuse.

Yet, I do not regret the music of our lust

or the chaotic  sound of your lies.

You taught me to weigh words more heavily;

To open my eyes and see…

When defining fact from fiction,

actions are the melody.

 

© Day Dreamer

Posted for dVerse Poets, Poetry Jam, and Poets United.  Stop by and link up with us!

 

 

50 responses to “Song of Truth

  1. that song of truth is not an easy one to sing and it often takes us a bit to separate truth from lies, noise from melody, the jazzy notes that seem to be off key but strangely fit in anyway… a felt and real write

  2. “For every one that doeth evil hateth the light, neither cometh to the light, lest his deeds should be reproved. But he that doeth truth cometh to the light, that his deeds may be made manifest, that they are wrought in God.” (John 3, 20-21)

    Christ is the truth. 🙂

  3. I agree about the value of truth. So important. Someone I know said that the shortest distance between two points is the truth. As in your poem, sometimes the truth is not easy…but it is good that it often teaches things, though difficult lessons. And indeed actions do speak, don’t they???

  4. I appreciate the narrative as it reveals exactly how we learn what we value from the experience of its lack. Here, I love how actions would be the melody in the song of truth.

  5. I love the last line… it took me a long time to learn that lesson and you said it beautifully. This was written very well and flowed easily. I like how you combined the prompts and I also liked “You gather words and spew forth rhetoric as a mask, thinly veiled and never meant to last.”

  6. So heart-rending, yet the lesson so true–it shows your strength of spirit to choose to not regret and to see a value, perfect ending. A poignant poem, well penned.

  7. You gather words and spew forth rhetoric as a mask,

    thinly veiled and never meant to last.

    Good lines though an unfortunate subject. I like the lesson learned as well in which “actions are the melody.”

  8. Oh yes, the last two lines concentrate the message of the poem, “when defining fact from fiction actions are the melody.” Brilliant, excellent and how I wish it weren’t that way, all too often. The beginning stanza powerful…I hear you. Well done.

Sandman leave me a dream...

